San Servolo 20181st International Conference on Engineering Biomedical Breakthroughs






Highlight Tour Venice

Basilica di San Marco

Saint Mark’s Basilica (Basilica di San Marco) in Venice is the most famous of the city’s churches and one of the best known examples of Italo-Byzantine architecture. Located at the end of Saint Mark’s Square (Piazza San Marco), next to the Doge’s Palace, it was once the Doge’s chapel Since 1807 it is the cathedral of Venice (Patriarchate of Venice). It is famous for its splendid design and its status as a symbol of Venetian wealth and power, since the 11th century the five-domed building has been known as the Chiesa d’Oro (Golden Church). The church was founded in the 9th century to host the supposed corpse of St. Mark, which was stolen by Venetian merchants and smuggled from Egypt to Venice. Another highlight is the Pala D’Oro, the high altar retable of the Basilica. It is one of the most refined and accomplished works of Byzantine enamel, with both front and rear sides decorated.

Palazzo Ducale

The Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale) in Venice is a unique example of Venetian Gothic architecture and one of the city’s main landmarks. Sitting at the political heart of Venice for most of the Republic’s existence, the building played a vital role in the daily life of its residents. More than simply being the doge’s residence, it was home to all Venice’s governing councils, many of its courts, a large number of its civil servants, and even its prisons.

For more than 1000 years, the Doge was the ruler and chief magistrate of the Republic of Venice. To maintain political stability, they were elected for life by the city-state’s aristocracy.

The Doge’s Palace was established in the 9th century, the building was rebuilt many times thereafter, and it was with the construction of the Sala del Maggior Consiglio (the Hall of the Great Council) in 1340 that the present building really took shape.

The palace has magnificent Gothic façades in white limestone and pink Veronese marble and its carefully crafted loggias and striking balconies all define late-Gothic Venetian architecture. There are 36 capitals on the lower colonnade that are festooned with carvings. The animals and flowers represent some of the finest stone work in Europe. Amongst the many sculptures are those depicting Adam and Eve, Noah, the Archangel Gabriel and many other religious figures. Inside, visitors are able to view works by Tintoretto,Titian and Veronese among others. Download

Galleria Dell’Accademia

The Gallerie dell’Accademia (Accademia Galleries) in Venice has one of the finest collections of Venetian art. The museum is located on the south side of the Grand Canal, in the Dorsoduro district. The Galleria dell’Accademia was originally part of the art school (Accademia di Belle Arti di Venezia), which was founded in 1750 by the Rococo painter Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. It was one of the first institutions to study art restoration. The original collection of paintings was opened to the public in 1817. In more than 24 rooms, the gallery hosts an outstanding collection of Venetian paintings dating from the 14th to the 18th centuries. The collection includes works by Bellini, Carpaccio, Canaletto, Veronese, Tintoretto, Tiziano, Tiepolo, Titian, and Veronese.

Ca‘ Rezzonico

Ca’ Rezzonico is a museum dedicated to the 18th-century Venice. It is located in a splendid Baroque palazzo on the Grand Canal. The museum offers visitors a glimpse of life as it was during Venice’s Golden Ages.

In 1649, Filippo Bon, head of one of Venice’s most important families, commissioned Baldassare Longhena to build the sumptuous palazzo. After Longhena’s death in 1682 and the financial collapse of the Bon family, the works on the construction stopped, leaving the mansion incomplete. The ownership then passed in 1751 to Giambattista Rezzonico, a merchant and banker, who appointed Giorgio Massari to complete the works.

The palace passed through the hands of various owners during the 19th century, including the English painter Robert Barrett Browning. His father, the writer Robert Browning, used the palazzo  as a residence and he died there. Eventually, it was sold to the Venice Town Council in 1935 and opened as a public museum 1936. Today it is one of the finest museums in Venice. In addition to the superb frescoes, sculptures and period costumes, visitors can admire Murano glass and furniture from the 1700s, as well as paintings by artists such as Tiepolo and Tintoretto, and Canaletto.